A friend of mine met me for lunch today. This is a brief synopsis of what my friend laid on me.
I feel really terrible today. I can’t stop thinking negatively. I can’t stop feeling sorry for myself. I suppose the correct verb should be “won’t”. I feel lost. I’ve felt lost for a while. I keep thinking that at some point I’ll see something that tells me I’m on the right path but I don’t. I’ve been crying a lot today. I have been angry a lot today. I have been a spoiled brat today. It all started, or maybe it ended, with that damned TV. My mother’s TV stopped working on Sunday. It’s one of those new fancy LCD flat screens, a 34” one to be exact. So I called the maker, Samsung, and they said if we send it to them they would fix it for free. How exactly do you send a 34” TV through the mail? Thank God the post office has those new “If It Fits It Ships” boxes out now. I’m sure they have one for a 34” LCD flat screen TV. It’s ridiculous. How long is that going to take to ship? How long is that going to take to fix and then send back? It’s BULLSHIT! Take responsibility for the crap you make! The TV is two years old and out of warranty, but come to find out that the TV was recalled starting in 2009 like a month after we bought it for my mom. So I called Best Buy. They will fix it but a guy has to come over and it’s $150 just for the visit and then parts and labor. Then all this stuff happened where my brother knew how to get it fixed without having to pay for it and then my mom was asking me questions about why it’s not under warranty and blah, blah, blah. I’m just fucking over the TV at this point. I don’t want to have to have my mom pay for the TV to get fixed but I don’t want her to be without the TV for however many months it’s going to take to mail it, get it fixed and get it mailed back. She already has to pay for a bunch of other shit and more than likely will have to give me another $500 so I can pay my bills this month. Meanwhile I have a gig that I did for $200-300 that I still haven’t gotten paid for and haven’t been called by any of the stupid jobs I applied for. And I do mean stupid jobs. Stupid jobs that should be creaming themselves to have me work there. Stupid jobs where all you have to do is smile and ask people if you can help them. I can do that, stupid job. I have an audition for a non-speaking part in a Verizon in-house video tomorrow. I know that’s supposed to make me feel good. It doesn’t. Of course, this is not about the TV. It’s never about the TV. I feel completely useless and like a loser. Then that leads to why am I not further along in my career? Then that leads to my family getting older. Then that leads to eventually I’ll be all by myself. Then that leads to why don’t I have somebody special in my life? Then that leads me to all my friends have significant others and children. Then that leads to I want a child. Then that leads to if I had a child I would be letting down another person who didn’t ask to be the child of a loser artist. I want to leave. I don’t like it that my mother is alone. I want to leave. I don’t like it that that guy got that part in that commercial. He’s an asshole. That’s terrible. You shouldn’t begrudge that asshole that part. The universe is abundant. You just don’t know where the universe is hiding everything because the universe is fucking HUGE. I miss my friends. I miss being creative. I miss being around creative people. I have to let go of something but I don’t know what it is. When did I become such a loser? I know. I shouldn’t say that I’m a loser, but it’s what I feel right now. I know that I’m not a loser but I still feel like one. I’m supposed to let something go. Is it control? When did I have that? I’m pretty sure I had it at one point. I should concentrate on the positive things in my life. It’s a positive thing that I can say, “Fuck you!” to anyone who tells me that. I’m Sorry. I know it’s probably the right thing to do, but it doesn’t help right now. I’m having a tantrum. Would you tell a 4 year old that? Then don’t tell me that right now, because right now I’m a fucking 4 year old. I really try to think about the positive stuff, but it’s hard to concentrate that hard on so few things. That’s terrible. That’s not true. It just feels true. This is the kind of day in which I wish I could stay in downward dog. Actually, the truth, this is one of those days in which I wish I could punch people in the face, really HARD! I’d probably start with President Obama for compromising on the Bush tax cuts. Like I don’t have enough to worry about!
What a downer my friend is right? Thank God that wasn’t me. I’ve never felt any of that in my life. I’m sure you’ve never felt it either. Seriously, I really hope you haven’t. It sucks, or so I've heard.

